TNPSC · Getting started
TNPSC OTR registration and how to apply, step by step
On this page
- OTR versus the exam application
- What to keep ready before you start
- Step-by-step: register and apply
- Photo and signature specifications
- Fees, exemptions and free chances
- Corrections after you submit
- Hall ticket and exam-day basics
- Helpdesk
- While your application is in, start the plan
- Frequently asked questions
- Official sources
To apply for any TNPSC exam you first complete One Time Registration (OTR) at www.tnpscexams.in: a Rs.150 profile that stays valid for 5 years and must now be linked to your Aadhaar. The OTR is not an application. Each time TNPSC notifies an exam, you log in with your OTR user ID and apply separately, upload a fresh photo and signature, and pay that exam's fee unless you are exempt. The Group 4 notification of 6 October 2026 closes on 5 November 2026 at 11.59 PM.
OTR versus the exam application
| One Time Registration | Exam application | |
|---|---|---|
| What it is | Your permanent profile with TNPSC | A request to sit one specific exam |
| How often | Once; valid 5 years from registration | Every exam you apply to |
| Fee | Rs.150 | Group 4: Rs.100. Group 2: Rs.100 for prelims, Rs.150 for mains. Group 1: Rs.100 for prelims, Rs.200 for mains |
| Photo and signature | Uploaded once to your profile | Uploaded afresh for each application |
| Apply at | www.tnpscexams.in | www.tnpscexams.in, with your OTR user ID |
Which exam to apply for is a separate decision, covered in TNPSC groups explained. Apply only on the official portal and only through the link in a TNPSC notification. Applications are online only.
What to keep ready before you start
- Aadhaar. Linking Aadhaar with your OTR is mandatory to create, renew or access the OTR and to apply for any exam. Do this before the notification date, not on the last day.
- SSLC details. Register number, certificate number, month and year of passing, medium of instruction and board. The OTR form asks for all of these, so keep your marksheet beside you.
- A photo and a signature, scanned to the sizes in the next section.
- Your community and special-category documents, if you will claim reservation or a fee concession.
Step-by-step: register and apply
- Open www.tnpscexams.in and choose One Time Registration.
- Fill in your personal details and the SSLC details above, and link your Aadhaar.
- Upload your OTR photograph (named Photograph.jpg) and signature (Signature.jpg) as per the specifications below.
- Pay the Rs.150 OTR fee. Note your OTR user ID.
- When a notification you want is out, log in with the user ID and open that exam's application.
- Check that your age, qualification and community match the notification (the eligibility guide explains the tables).
- Upload the application photo and signature, choose your exam centre preferences (two; PwBD candidates give one), and claim any fee concession if you are entitled to one.
- Pay the exam fee if applicable, and save or print the confirmation.
The order of screens on the portal can differ from this outline, so follow the instructions on the portal and in the notification.
Photo and signature specifications
The Group 4 2026 notification (Annexure I) gives these specs. Rejected uploads are the most common avoidable problem.
| Item | OTR profile | Each exam application |
|---|---|---|
| Photograph | JPG, 20 to 50 KB, 200 DPI | Colour, passport size, white background, JPG, 20 to 50 KB |
| Size and layout | Not specified beyond file size | 4.5 cm high by 3.5 cm wide (170 by 130 pixels): the face image 3.0 cm (115 px) plus a 1.5 cm (55 px) strip with your name and date of photography |
| Photo date | Not specified | Studio photo taken on or after the notification date |
| Signature | JPG, 10 to 20 KB, 200 DPI | Sign inside a 6.0 by 2.0 cm box (230 by 75 pixels) in blue or black ink, scan at 200 DPI, JPG, 10 to 20 KB |
Selfies and phone photos are not accepted for the application photograph, so book a studio on or after the notification date and ask for the name and date to be printed at the bottom.
Fees, exemptions and free chances
OTR is Rs.150 and exam fees are as in the table above. Concessions work like this in the 2026 Group 4 notification:
| Category | Concession |
|---|---|
| SC, SC(A), ST | Full exemption from exam fees |
| Persons with benchmark disabilities | Full exemption |
| Destitute widows | Full exemption (monthly income not more than Rs.8,000; divorced or deserted women excluded) |
| BC (OBCM), BCM, MBC/DC | Three free chances |
| Ex-servicemen | Two free chances |
A "free chance" is used up by every application on which you claim the concession, whatever the post, so a BC candidate who applies to three exams has used all three. A false claim leads to rejection and a one-year debarment. These are the Group 4 2026 terms; the Group 2 and Group 1 notifications set out their own fees, as in the first table.
Corrections after you submit
TNPSC opens a short correction window after the last date, three days in each of the three notifications we reviewed. For Group 4 2026 it runs from 12.01 AM on 9 November 2026 to 11.59 PM on 11 November 2026. You can edit details for your application in that window, so use it to fix a wrong community or photo. Details on your OTR profile can be edited too, with documents. Re-check your age against the cut-off date before you submit: a correction fixes a typo, not eligibility.
Hall ticket and exam-day basics
The notification does not fix a hall-ticket date, so watch tnpsc.gov.in for the release announcement and keep your OTR login details handy in case the portal asks for them. On exam day the OMR sheet asks for your left-hand thumb impression and register number, and mistakes cost marks, as explained in the marking scheme guide. For the Group 4 exam on 10 January 2027, see the TNPSC annual planner guide for how dates have moved.
Helpdesk
For OTR and application problems, TNPSC lists a toll-free helpdesk on 1800 419 0958 (10.00 AM to 5.45 PM on working days) and helpdesk@tnpscexams.in for OTR queries. Grievances go to grievance.tnpsc@tn.gov.in.
While your application is in, start the plan
Once you have applied, the exam date is the only thing left to organise around. The beginner roadmap shows how to start from zero, and the TNPSC exam guide lists every other guide. PrepMatic's free assessment, about 15 untimed questions, shows your weakest subjects for TNPSC. The study plan is built from your exam date, daily study hours and study days, with a Today view and a month-to-week Roadmap. You can choose Tamil as the exam language for practice, and set study reminders by browser notification or email. Study reminders are not application-deadline reminders, so note the closing date yourself.
Frequently asked questions
What is the fee for TNPSC OTR?
OTR costs Rs.150 and is valid for 5 years from the date of registration. It is separate from exam fees, which in the Group 4 2026 notification are Rs.100 unless you are exempt.
Is Aadhaar mandatory for TNPSC OTR?
Yes. Aadhaar linking with the OTR is mandatory to create, renew or access your OTR and to apply for exams. Link it well before a notification is published so you are not stuck on the last day.
Do I need to register again for every TNPSC exam?
No. OTR is a one-time profile, valid for 5 years. You do have to submit a separate application for every exam, using your OTR user ID.
Can I change my details after submitting the application?
Only within the correction window, which is a few days long and starts after the last date. In the Group 4 2026 cycle it ran from 9 to 11 November 2026. Outside that window, assume you cannot.
What photo does TNPSC accept for the application?
A colour, passport-size studio photograph with a white background, taken on or after the notification date, with your name and the date of photography printed at the bottom. The file must be a JPG of 20 to 50 KB, and selfies are not accepted.
Official sources
- TNPSC official website: notifications and press releases.
- TNPSC online application portal: OTR and exam applications.
- Group 4 Notification No. 11/2026: Annexure I (how to apply) and Annexure II (concessions).
Fees, dates and specifications can change in every notification. Confirm them in the latest notification before you apply.
Find your weak TNPSC units before the exam does
Take a free TNPSC assessment on PrepMatic. It shows where you stand across General Tamil, General Studies and Aptitude, then builds a day-by-day study plan and mock tests focused on your weak subjects.
Start free assessment →Free forever plan · No credit card · 2-minute setupRelated guides
- TNPSC age limit & eligibilityTNPSC age limits for Group 1, Group 2/2A and Group 4 by community, PwBD, ex-servicemen and widows, plus qualification, Tamil knowledge and attempt rules.
- TNPSC groups explainedA plain guide to the TNPSC groups: which posts sit in Group 1, 2, 2A and 4, qualification, interview or not, and what happened to Group 3, 7B and 8.
- TNPSC negative markingTNPSC has no penalty for wrong answers, but a fully blank question costs 0.5 mark. See option E, OMR rules, qualifying marks and the attempt strategy.
- TNPSC annual plannerWhat the TNPSC annual planner promises and doesn't, the 2026 planned dates against what happened, the notification-to-exam cycle and how to plan your year.
- TNPSC Tamil eligibility testHow the TNPSC Tamil eligibility test works in Group 4, Group 2/2A and Group 1: the 40% gate, whether marks count for rank, syllabus standard and how to prepare.
More in Getting started
- TNPSC salary by groupTNPSC salary by pay-matrix level: Level 22 for Group 1, 16-18 for Group 2, 9-12 for Group 2A, mostly Level 8 for Group 4, plus how to estimate in-hand pay.
- TNPSC preparation for beginnersStart TNPSC preparation from scratch: pick your group, read the syllabus, use Samacheer books in order, follow a 30-60-90 day plan and avoid outdated advice.